Free shipping on orders over $50!
Cart 0

Maha Navratri 2016

Navratri is almost here - the nine night celebration of the Goddess, and the triumph of good over evil. Although Navratri is usually celebrated over nine nights (nava meaning nine and ratri meaning night), this year it will begin October 1 and continue through October 10th. The dates are set according to the lunar calendar, and this year day one happens to fall, astrologically, over two dates, so it will be a ten day festival.

Navratri is the celebration of the Divine Mother in the forms of Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati, who represent the powers of action, love and knowledge, respectively. The first three nights are specifically for Durga, the Goddess of power and energy; the next three for Lakshmi, the Goddess of wealth, prosperity and beauty; and the last three for Saraswati, the Goddess of spiritual knowledge, creative arts, and intuition.

Maybe more importantly, Navratri is the celebration of the different faces of Durga, with each day dedicated to one aspect of her personality, personified as a goddess. As we celebrate the many facets of Durga’s personality and get in touch with the powers of the goddess we are able to acknowledge the power that also resides within each one of us; so Navratri becomes not only a time to celebrate the Divine Mother, but also a time to celebrate all that we are.

The festivities are diverse depending on where the celebration is taking place, and can include wearing certain colors each day, fasting, and daily prayers and pujas; but the most impactful thing you can do to celebrate is to take five minutes of silence each day. It’s in this silent space that transformation takes place – whether it’s healing, strengthening willpower, or just being with the Divine. The cultivation of silence is the easiest way to remember that peace, happiness, and love already exist inside each one of us!

We will be posting each day of Navratri, so follow to keep up with the celebration.

Preview of Day 1: October 1st. Celebrate Shailaputri. Wear grey.

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published